A Mommy’s Journey to the Post Office

On February 18, I went to the post office as a part of my normal task. To my surprise, I received a package from my son. The box was addressed to “Mommy” – not my name, as most mailings are addressed. With much curiosity, I immediately opened it. There were a teddy bear holding a ‘I LOVE You” heart and a plaque. The plaque held the words of his love for his mommy…Me. Have you ever read a card that describes your relationship with someone to the exact detail? It was as if that person took time to get the perfect card. Well, as I read the plaque, I noticed he took time to get the perfect plaque. Lest to say, tears began to fall right at the counter in the post office. A lady standing beside me asked me about my tears. And I shared the box, the bear with the “I Love You” heart, and the plaque. She began to cry too. She recalled all the work we put into our children so that they can have a better life. ‘All the work’ is not easy work, they are sacrifices. It is more than giving them material possessions, name brand sneakers, the top fashion design, etc. Yet, it is ‘all the work’ we put into them to love themselves, to see their gifts and life potential to be great people who can make a difference in the world.

Sacrifices include moments when your child doesn’t seem to understand why momma has rules and expectations. I remember the times we often disagreed and tough decisions I had to make. Times like not allowing him to go to the military ball while in high school, because he failed to keep organization for his six-week compilation folder. It was small things like that which lead him to understand greater responsibility like going to college today.

Receiving this package today lets me know that he is thankful and he does understand what I tried to do when he was in the home. It also affirms the hard work I put forward to parenting was not in vain. I am thankful to God for guiding me through the process!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

